Imperfect Princesses

April 17, 2008 at 11:12 pm 2 comments

I always thought my first child would be a boy. I have an older brother, so in my mind, the boy just comes first. I also grew up in a neighborhood where I was the only girl. We lived across the street from a house with five boys (God bless their mother!) which led to my inevitable conversion from sweet little girl to TomBoy.

It’s funny how life works. Almost four years ago, my husband and I sat anxiously in the OB’s office as they performed our sono-gram. The sono-tech smiled as she froze a picture on the screen drew an arrow and labeled it “girl parts.” While we were very excited to bring a little girl into this world, we were also a little, well, terrified. You see, along with his still somewhat TomBoyish wife, my husband grew up in a house with a brother as his only sibling. He moved from that environment to a fraternity house and it is safe to say both residences left him a bit unprepared for life with a little girl.

Our once nicely decorated home has turned into a sea of pink, surrounded by all things princess and My Little Pony.

My daughter’s new favorite television show is Dancing With the Stars. She could care less that one of the stars won Gold at the Winter Olympics before she was born. She is unaffected by the fact that one of the contestants can’t even hear the music that she is dancing to. For my daughter, as with most things in her life, this reality show provides a soundtrack and sets the stage for her own performance.

As soon as she hears the theme song to the “Dancing Show” she runs for her two favorite things: a princess dress and her daddy. After helps her get into her favorite princess dress of the day, they commence to the living room where she holds her hands up in the air and smiles as she pleads, “Daddy, dance with me! Dance with me daddy.” This leads to twirling, singing, swaying, sometimes falling, and the ever popular standing on daddy’s feet.

Although they are not allowed on the dance floor of ABC’s show, the home game does allow the use of lifts during the dance routine. This week, as Richie lifted his sweet princess, all clad in pink of course, into the air to spin her around, she returned the favor by letting out a long, loud toot, and I’m not talking about the kind a train makes.

All Richie and I could do is burst into laughter, which of course sent our daughter into hysterics. She kept dancing, as did Richie, although with tears of laughter in his eyes and a wish that her senior prom will end in a similar fashion.

As I watched my favorite couple dance on our carpeted ballroom, I started to wonder, at what point is it no longer cute or funny to be an imperfect princess? Is it likely that Prince Charming would have still chased Cinderella down the stairs of the castle if she bent down to pick up her shoe and let one rip?

Somewhere between pre-school and puberty, the things in life that used to bring us so much joy, like being tickled, slurping spaghetti, and hiking up our skirts to climb on the monkey bars, loose their charm. We all of the sudden realize that other people are watching us and that our behavior, which used to elicit laughter, now gets us nothing but looks of disapproval.

As I watch my little princess grow, I am already pained to think that her years of un-ashamed tooting and spinning around and around until she falls to the floor are in limited supply. All I can do is hope that somewhere out there, a little prince, with his own little imperfections, is spinning around in the living room with his mommy, practicing for the day when he will take the place of my husband on the dance floor and in my little princess’ heart.

Entry filed under: Ramblings of a Sleep Deprived Mom.

Welcome to the world of Miss Information Communication’s Number One Rule

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ginger*:)  |  July 1, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Kristin, I enjoyed reading so many of your posts and then when I came to this one I found another reason to be here. You need to see this book—>
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/0310717620/?tag=googhydr-20&hvadid=3626100855&ref=pd_sl_46elsbzw77_e

    Dance Me Daddy was beautifully illustrated by Philomela O’Niell and is the perfect story for your lovely little girl.

    Reply
  • 2. Kristen Escovedo  |  July 1, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Ginger,

    Thanks for the comment and the book recommendation. We love finding new authors and this looks like a perfect book for us. Looks like we will be making a trip to the bookstore today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts


